Wednesday, February 27, 2013

The Jack Nightingale series by Stephen Leather

Product DetailsProduct DetailsProduct Details

I found these as a Kindle Daily Deal on Amazon. I don't know what made me decide to buy them, but I did. WOW. The plotline is fairly dark- Jack is a former cop turned private eye. Book 1- Nightfall- tells how Jack left his former career and how several years later he finds out that not only was he adopted, his biological father was a Satanist who sold Jack's soul to the devil at birth. Now he regrets the deal, has committed suicide, and left everything he has to Jack in the hopes that he can use it to get himself out of the deal. People close to Jack begin dying horrible deaths at an alarming rate, demons are stalking him, and Jack has to make deals with a devil to save his soul.

Midnight- Jack has survived the battle for his soul and is trying to figure out how to pick up the pieces of his life and go on. Then another bequest from his bio-dad makes his life worse. Turns out that dear old dad not only sold Jack's soul, he sold the soul of a little sister Jack never knew he had...and if Jack survived past the date he was supposed to die, Dad wants him to try to find/save her too. The problem? Jack finds his sister...and she's in a mental institution as it's believed she's a serial killer of children. And she thinks he's the crazy one when he explains what is happening.

Nightmare- Jack has survived deals with devils, retained his soul, freed his sister and saved HER soul, and is once again hoping to get on with his life. Sadly, the devils he outsmarted in their deals are out for revenge. Adding to the confusion, the ghost of Sophie, a little girl Jack was unable to save when he was a cop, keeps appearing and asking him for help. The only way to help her? Another deal with a devil, of course. The fallout from that deal makes the whole series worth it. Yes, there is a sort of happy ending...after all that darkness, Jack needs it!

No comments:

Post a Comment